Contact Us

Our school is located in the heart of Minneapolis and St. Paul, with the main offices at the Mayo Memorial Building on the East Bank campus.

Employment opportunities at the School of Public Health can be found through the University of Minnesota’s Job Center.

General Information 

Phone: 612-626-3500 or 800-774-8636  |  Fax: 612-624-4498  |  sph-ask@umn.edu

A302 Mayo Building
420 Delaware Street SE
Mayo Mail Code 197
Minneapolis, MN 55455

Directions & Maps

SPH central offices are located in the Mayo Memorial Building, UMN East Bank (see a map).

Three of our four divisions are also housed in the Mayo Building, including Biostatistics, Environmental Health Sciences, and Health Policy & Management.

Epidemiology & Community Health is located in the West Bank Office Building (WBOB), near the UMN West Bank campus (see a map).

Parking
The parking options closest to our central offices include:

There are also a number of parking lots on campus. Metered parking is also available on many streets.

Public Transit
Numerous city buses stop close to our building, in front of Coffman Union. For more information about specific bus routes, see the Metro Transit site.

Office of the Dean

John R. Finnegan, Jr.
Professor and Dean
612-625-1179
sphdean@umn.edu

Kristin Anderson
Professor
Associate Dean for Learning Systems & Student Affairs
612-626-8568
ander116@umn.edu

Beth Virnig
Professor
Sr. Associate Dean for Academic Affairs & Research
612-624-4426
virni001@umn.edu

Joe Weisenburger
Chief Administrative Officer & Chief Financial Officer
612-625-4690
j-weis@umn.edu

Susan Rafferty
Director of Human Resources
Mayo Building, Room A381
612-624-7196
raffe005@umn.edu

Louis Clark
Director of Development
612-626-2391
clarkl@umn.edu

Staff Directory

Barb Cook
Executive Assistant to Dean John Finnegan
612-625-1179
barbcook@umn.edu

Aneisha Tucker
Assistant to the Associate Deans
612-624-4232
tucke127@umn.edu

Ann Cary
Accountant
612-624-1495
acary@umn.edu

Melissa Wuori
Executive Accounts Specialist
612-625-2383
wuori003@umn.edu

Stefannie Thompson
Academic Affairs Lead
612-626-1428
stef@umn.edu

Tamara Hink
Assistant Director of Finance
612-626-4643
hink@umn.edu

Galaanee Saaqqataa
Principal Accounts Specialist
612-626-7973
saaqq001@umn.edu

Andy Nguyen
IT Support
Mayo Building, Room A302
612-626-1998
avnguyen@umn.edu

Student Services

612-626-3500 or 800-774-8636 | Fax: 612-624-4498 | sph-ask@umn.edu

Student Services leads up the school’s efforts in student recruiting, student data coordination and career services. Prospective students interested in learning more about the school and our degree programs can contact Student Services for assistance.

Visit Student Services
Mayo Building, Room A395
420 Delaware St. S.E.
Minneapolis, MN 55455-0381

Tim Kamenar
Senior Director, Admissions and Student Resources
612-626-5005
kamen001@umn.edu

Jenna Egan
Recruitment and Enrollment Manager
612-624-0601
egan0056@umn.edu

Jennifer Arntzen
Coordinator for Applications & Admissions
612-624-1991
arntz007@umn.edu

Crystal Esparza 
Student Engagement & Recruitment
612-625-6915
espa0018@umn.edu

Carol Francis
Director of Academic & Student Affairs
612-624-6952
franc004@umn.edu

Darren Kaltved
Associate Director, Career & Professional Development
612-626-4448
dkaltved@umn.edu

Megan LaFontaine
Employer Relations/Field Experience, Career & Professional Development
612-301-9502
meganlaf@umn.edu

Vic Massaglia
Director, Career & Professional Development
612-626-5443
victorm@umn.edu

Lauren L. Eldridge
Coordinator of Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion
612-624-9970
leldridg@umn.edu

Advancement

Louis Clark
Chief Development Officer
612-626-2391
clarkl@umn.edu

Anna Burgason Dirksen
Development Officer
612-624-5411
adirksen@umn.edu

Mary Friedmann
Advancement Team Assistant
612-626-5718
mfriedma@umn.edu

Heidi Mastrud
Director of Alumni Relations
612-625-2443
goldm120@umn.edu

Sara Pennebecker
612-626-7405
penne048@umn.edu
sphalumni.umn.edu

Communications

Sarah Bjorkman
Director of Communications
Mayo Building, Room C391
612-624-6708, bjor0180@umn.edu
Martha Coventry
Communications Senior Consultant
Mayo Building, Room C393
612-626-3750, coven002@umn.edu

Charlie Plain
Writer/Editor
Mayo Building, Room C394
612-626-0787, cplain@umn.edu

Tom Stanoch
Web Manager
stan0347@umn.edu

Human Resources

Susan Rafferty
Chief of Staff
Mayo Building, Room A306
612-624-7196
Raffe005@umn.edu

Tracey Kane
HR Consultant
Mayo Building, Room A352
612-626-8861
kane@umn.edu

Mary Belisle
HR Consultant
Mayo Building, Room A347
612-626-9266
mbelisle@umn.edu

Sonya Johnson
HR Data and Reporting Lead
Mayo Building, Room A351
612-624-3193
sonya@umn.edu

Cecilia Colizza
HR Data and Reporting Lead
Mayo Building, Room A351
612-626-2075
ccolizza@umn.edu

 

Office of E-Learning Services

Visit the Office of E-Learning Services
Mayo Building, Room A295

Sara Hurley, PhD, MFA
Director
hurley@umn.edu
612-625-7709

Ellyn Buchanan, PhD
Learning Technologist
stlou009@umn.edu
612-625-9669

Jim Harpole
Distance Education Coordinator
harpo002@umn.edu (direct)
decsph@umn.edu (for course issues/support)
612-626-5069

Tiffany Thayer
Digital Project Manager
tthayer@umn.edu
612-626-9884

Solen Feyissa, PhD, MA
Instructional Designer
feyis003@umn.edu
612-301-1427

Bernadette Gloeb, MLS
Instructional Designer
gloeb@umn.edu
612-625-2222

Sheila Hoover, PhD
Instructional Designer
hoove004@umn.edu

Kaia Sievert, MLIS
Multimedia Project Coordinator
ksievert@umn.edu (direct)
sph-production@umn.edu (for production support)
612-625-1192

Kris Woll, MA
Instructional Designer
wollk@umn.edu