Contact Us

Print This Page

Our school is located in the heart of Minneapolis and St. Paul, with the main offices at the Mayo Memorial Building on the East Bank campus. The Office of the Dean is made up of staff who assist faculty, students, and alumni.

Employment opportunities at the School of Public Health can be found through the University of Minnesota’s Job Center.

Office of the Dean

Hours:
 Monday-Friday
 | 7:45 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. (central)

612-624-6669
 | Fax: 612-626-6931 | sphdo@umn.edu

SPH staff with Goldy

Mail

School of Public Health
Mayo Mail Code 197
420 Delaware St. S.E.
Minneapolis, MN 55455-0381

Delivery address

Mayo Building
Room A302
420 Delaware St. S.E.
Minneapolis, MN 55455

Directions & Maps

SPH central offices are located in the Mayo Memorial Building, UMN East Bank (see a map).

Three of our four divisions are also housed in the Mayo Building, including Biostatistics, Environmental Health Sciences, and Health Policy & Management.

Epidemiology & Community Health is located in the West Bank Office Building (WBOB), near the UMN West Bank campus (see a map).

Parking
The parking options closest to our central offices include:

There are also a number of parking lots on campus. Metered parking is also available on many streets.

Public Transit
Numerous city buses stop close to our building, in front of Coffman Union. For more information about specific bus routes, see the Metro Transit site.

Dean's Office Directory

John R. Finnegan, Jr.
Professor and Dean
612-625-1179
sphdean@umn.edu

Kristin Anderson
Professor
Associate Dean for Learning Systems & Student Affairs
612-626-8568
ander116@umn.edu

Beth Virnig
Professor
Sr. Associate Dean for Academic Affairs & Research
612-624-4426
virni001@umn.edu

Joe Weisenburger
Chief Administrative Officer & Chief Financial Officer
612-625-4690
j-weis@umn.edu

Susan Rafferty
Director of Human Resources
Mayo Building, Room A381
612-624-7196
raffe005@umn.edu

Louis Clark
Director of Development
612-626-2391
clarkl@umn.edu

Staff Directory

Barb Cook
Executive Assistant to Dean John Finnegan
612-625-1179
barbcook@umn.edu

Aneisha Tucker
Assistant to the Associate Deans
612-624-4232
tucke127@umn.edu

Ann Cary
Accountant
612-624-1495
acary@umn.edu

Melissa Wuori
Executive Accounts Specialist
612-625-2383
wuori003@umn.edu

Stefannie Thompson
Academic Affairs Lead
612-626-1428
stef@umn.edu

Tamara Hink
Assistant Director of Finance
612-626-4643
hink@umn.edu

Galaanee Saaqqataa
Principal Accounts Specialist
612-626-7973
saaqq001@umn.edu

Andy Nguyen
IT Support
Mayo Building, Room A302
612-626-1998
avnguyen@umn.edu

Student Services

612-626-3500 or 800-774-8636 | Fax: 612-624-4498 | sph-ask@umn.edu

Student Services leads up the school’s efforts in student recruiting, student data coordination and career services. Prospective students interested in learning more about the school and our degree programs can contact Student Services for assistance.

Visit Student Services
Mayo Building, Room A395
420 Delaware St. S.E.
Minneapolis, MN 55455-0381

Tim Kamenar
Senior Director, Admissions and Student Resources
612-626-5005
kamen001@umn.edu

Jenna Egan
Recruitment and Enrollment Manager
612-624-0601
egan0056@umn.edu

Jennifer Arntzen
Coordinator for Applications & Admissions
612-624-1991
arntz007@umn.edu

Sherlonda Clarke
Director of Diversity & Inclusion
612-624-9970
sdclarke@umn.edu

Crystal Esparza 
Student Engagement & Recruitment
612-625-6915
espa0018@umn.edu

Carol Francis
Director of Academic & Student Affairs
612-624-6952
franc004@umn.edu

Darren Kaltved
Associate Director, Career & Professional Development
612-626-4448
dkaltved@umn.edu

Megan LaFontaine
Employer Relations/Field Experience, Career & Professional Development
612-301-9502
meganlaf@umn.edu

Vic Massaglia
Director, Career & Professional Development
612-626-5443
victorm@umn.edu

Alumni Relations & Development

Tara Anderson
Director of Alumni Relations & Annual Giving
612-626-5536
tlanders@umn.edu
Louie Clark
Director of Development
612-626-2391
clarkl@umn.edu
Meghan Laffen
Assistant Director of Alumni Relations
612-626-7405
mlaffen@umn.edu
Heidi Mastrud
Assistant Director of Stewardship & Annual Giving
612-625-2443
goldm120@umn.edu

Communications

Martha Coventry
Director of Communications
Mayo Building, Room C393
612-626-3750, coven002@umn.edu
Sarah Bjorkman
Marketing Manager
Mayo Building, Room C391
612-624-6708, bjor0180@umn.edu
Sarah Howard
Senior Editor
Mayo Building, Room C397
612-624-1641, showard@umn.edu

Laura Hendrickson
Marketing & Communications Specialist
Mayo Building, Room C391
612-301-9448, ltiffany@umn.edu

Charlie Plain
Writer/Editor
Mayo Building, Room C394
612-626-0787, cplain@umn.edu
Tom Stanoch
Web Manager
stan0347@umn.edu

Office of E-Learning Services

Visit the Office of E-Learning Services
Mayo Building, Room A295

Sara Hurley, PhD, MFA
Director
hurley@umn.edu
612-625-7709

Ellyn Buchanan, PhD
Learning Technologist
stlou009@umn.edu
612-625-9669

Jim Harpole
Distance Education Coordinator
harpo002@umn.edu (direct)
decsph@umn.edu (for course issues/support)
612-626-5069

Tiffany Thayer
Digital Project Manager
tthayer@umn.edu
612-626-9884

Audra Kerlin, MLIS
Multimedia Project Coordinator
kerli006@umn.edu
612-301-1427

Joel Dickinson, MEd
Instructional Designer
dick0196@umn.edu
612-625-3476

Bernadette Gloeb, MLS
Instructional Designer
gloeb@umn.edu
612-625-2222

Sheila Hoover, PhD
Instructional Designer
hoove004@umn.edu

Darrell Peterson, MEd
Instructional Designer
pete2620@umn.edu
612-625-1192