

Charles N. Hewitt Creative Teaching Award

PURPOSE

The Charles N. Hewitt Creative Teaching Award recognizes School of Public Health faculty who have made an outstanding contribution in special areas of public health education. These may include achievements in skilled teaching of large classes; in continuing education and other non-traditional educational settings; in interscholastic education of health professional students; or in innovative applications of learning technology. The award symbolizes the school's commitment to learning through especially creative, innovative, and effective teaching of undergraduate, graduate, and non-traditional students.

The award commemorates the contributions of Charles N. Hewitt, M.D. (1835-1910), the first teacher of public health at the University of Minnesota, and the first secretary of the Minnesota Board of Health, forerunner to the Minnesota Department of Health.

THE AWARD

Recipients' achievements will be commemorated with a plaque, a permanent display in the school's administrative offices, and a cash award of \$1,500. No more than one award will be given in any single year. The award will be presented at the annual School of Public Health Research Day and the Faculty and Staff Recognition Event.

ELIGIBILITY

School faculty on 12-month or 9-month appointments, or adjunct faculty who have participated in an SPH teaching program annually during the past three years, are eligible. Previous recipients of the award are eligible to be nominated in subsequent years for additional achievements.

PRINCIPAL NOMINATOR

To nominate someone for this award, you must be a member of the School of Public Health:

- Faculty
- Staff
- Student body

EVALUATION CRITERIA

Successful nominees will demonstrate elements such as:

- Special teaching excellence and creativity in large class settings, including the application of effective learning strategies and the ability to stimulate students' intellectual growth and development; or
- A record of innovation, creativity and excellence in teaching non-traditional students in continuing education or other non-traditional (Ex. E-PHAP, etc.) settings; or
- Outstanding contributions to interscholastic education of health professional students across health disciplines with a particular focus on innovation and excellence in teaching the public health core sciences; or
- Outstanding contributions to public health learning through innovative and creative applications of learning technology.

NOMINATION DEADLINE

The final deadline for all submissions is Noon, Monday, March 6, 2017.

NOMINATION DOCUMENTATION

- A letter of nomination of no more than three pages in length by a student, staff, or School of Public Health faculty member. The letter should advocate the case for the award and address how the faculty member's teaching meets one or more of the evaluation criteria.
- No more than four letters in support of the nomination, of which at least two must be provided by students who have taken a course from the nominee.
- The nominee's curriculum vita and teaching record including recent syllabi, summary of teaching evaluations for the last five
 years, or multimedia material illustrating the teaching achievement for which the candidate is nominated.



To facilitate evaluation, please have one person act as the primary nominator, compiling all of the letters of support and other material prior to submitting online for the review committee.

Students acting as primary nominators are encouraged to discuss the nomination with the program major chair, Director of Graduate Studies, a SPH faculty member, or program major coordinators for assistance in in documenting creative achievement in teaching

Excerpts from award recipients' nomination letters may be read at the awards ceremony. Following the ceremony, the winner will receive a complete copy of the nomination submission.

PREVIOUS RECIPIENTS

YEAR	RECIPIENT
2016	Peter Raynor
2015	No recipient
2014	Ann Brearley
2013	No recipient
2012	No recipient
2011	Elizabeth Wattenberg
2010	No recipient
2009	Susan Telke
2008	No recipient
2007	Charles Oberg
2006	No recipient
2005	William Hueston
2004	Kathryn Schmitz
2003	William Riley
2002	Kristin Anderson
2001	James Rothenberger