

Leonard M. Schuman Award for Excellence in Teaching

PURPOSE AND BACKGROUND

The Leonard M. Schuman Award for Excellence in Teaching recognizes School of Public Health faculty who are particularly outstanding teachers in the art of conveying to their students the stimulation and interest in subject matter which is at the core of teaching functions of all great universities. The school recognizes its outstanding teachers, both as a tribute to their special qualities and their dedication, and also to bring to the attention of current and future students the names and faces of those so honored. With this award, the School emphasizes the importance of the teaching function in the university. As a professional school, we continue to place equal emphasis on research, teaching, and service, but recognize that the majority of our students seek professional rather than academic careers. In a short period of time students must learn a disciplinary language, a philosophy, and a broad body of knowledge as the fundamental tools for their careers. The task of imparting a professional education is a challenging one, and those who are superior in meeting this challenge deserve recognition.

The award was established in 1984 to honor the teaching record of Dr. Leonard M. Schuman, a physician and epidemiologist in the School of Public Health. Dr. Schuman was an innovative investigator and outstanding educator who established the first Ph.D. program in epidemiology and the first summer epidemiology continuing education program in the nation. He joined the School of Public Health in 1954 as an Associate Professor and led the Division of Epidemiology from 1954 to 1983. During his long and distinguished career, he served on more than 40 national committees and advisory boards, including the Surgeon General's committee that issued the 1964 landmark report implicating tobacco in lung cancer and other diseases. Dr. Schuman's research contributions were recognized internationally and included discovery of the cause of silo-filler's disease, development of a long-term follow-up study for examining the relationship between diet and cancer, participation in the Tri-State Leukemia Study, and direction of the Third National Cancer Survey for the Twin Cities. In 1983 he was named Mayo Professor of Public Health, and his exceptional teaching abilities were later acknowledged with the creation of the Leonard M. Schuman Excellence in Teaching Award.

THE AWARD

The recipient's achievements will be commemorated with a plaque, a permanent display in the school's administrative offices, and a cash award of \$3,000. No more than one award will be given in any single year. Each year's recipient also becomes a member of the SPH Recognition, Awards and Honors Committee to judge teaching awards in the following year. The award will be presented at the annual School of Public Health Research Day and the Faculty and Staff Recognition Event.

ELIGIBILITY

School faculty on 12-month or 9-month appointments with a record of at least five years teaching in the School of Public Health are eligible. Previous winners are not eligible for a second award.

PRINCIPAL NOMINATOR

To nominate someone for this award, you must be a member of the School of Public Health:

- Faculty
- Staff
- Student body

EVALUATION CRITERIA

"From a deep understanding of subject matter a good teacher offers articulate presentations and thought-provoking analyses. The good teacher creates a climate of learning from a base of mutual respect, sound rapport, and high expectations between teacher and student." (Text from the Schuman Award plaque).

The successful nominee will demonstrate a sustained record of excellence of at least five years teaching in the School of Public Health including elements such as:

- Success in stimulating the intellectual growth and development of students in one of the public health disciplines
- A broad context and understanding of the entire field of public health, encouraging students to integrate knowledge beyond their own discipline
- An emphasis on critical thinking and analysis



- Use of effective teaching practices and effectiveness as a communicator
- Availability and accessibility to students that exceeds normal expectations

NOMINATION DEADLINE

The final deadline for all submissions is Noon, Monday, March 6, 2017.

NOMINATION DOCUMENTATION

- A letter of nomination.
- A letter from the program major chair or Director of Graduate Studies documenting sustained excellence in teaching.
- No more than five letters of support, of which four must be from past and current students or alumni providing evidence of the qualities of teaching described in the evaluation criteria above (letters from both students and alumni are preferred).
- The nominee's complete teaching record, indicating for each course: dates of course, whether the course was a required MPH core course, the nominee's role in teaching (if not sole instructor), number of students, and median scores from these items on the SPH course evaluations:
 - o Instructor's overall teaching ability
 - Instructor's respect and concern for students
 - o How much did you learn?
- The syllabus for only one course. Written student comments from teaching evaluations are optional. If written comments are included, all the comments from a given course should be included without selection. "Selected comments" are difficult to evaluate.

To facilitate evaluation, please have one person act as the primary nominator, compiling all of the letters of support and other material prior to submitting online for the review committee.

Students acting as primary nominators are encouraged to discuss the nomination with the program major chair, Director of Graduate Studies, a SPH faculty member, or program major coordinators for assistance in documenting sustained excellence in teaching (e.g., summarizing past teaching evaluations, writing and soliciting supporting letters, and providing names of former students and alumni).

Excerpts from award recipients' nomination letters may be read at the awards ceremony. Following the ceremony, the winner will receive a complete copy of the nomination submission.

PREVIOUS RECIPIENTS

YEAR	RECIPIENT	YEAR	RECIPIENT
2016	Julian Wolfson	2000	Eyal Shahar
2015	Richard MacLehose and Traci Toomey	1999	Will Thomas
2014	Alan R. Lifson	1998	Jack Mandel and Robert Veninga
2013	Susan Telke	1997	No recipient
2012	Dianne Neumark-Sztainer	1996	Paul McGovern
2011	Jean Abraham	1995	David Murray
2010	Michael Oakes	1994	No recipient
2009	James Begun	1993	Jean Forster
2008	Brad Carlin	1992	Michael Resnick
2007	John Connett	1991	Phyllis Pirie
2006	Lynn Blewett and Charles Oberg	1990	Judith Garrard and Cheryl Perry
2005	John Nyman and William Toscano	1989	No recipient
2004	Melanie Wall	1988	Chap Le and Sharon Ostwald
2003	Wendy Hellerstedt	1987	No recipient
2002	Lynn Eberly	1986	James Rothenberger
2001	James Neaton	1985	No recipient
		1984	Dorothy Jeffries