Seminars

The Division of Biostatistics seminar series includes research-focused talks by visiting faculty from a wide range of institutions, and faculty from the University of Minnesota. All seminars are free and open to the public. Biostatistics students organize the Student Seminar Series, where students present and discuss their work in progress.

Date/Time/Location Name Affiliation Title
Tues, Aug 7, 2018
10:30 a.m.
Moos 5-125
Abdus S. Wahed University of Pittsburgh Discovering the Future: Individualized Treatment, Data Science, and Beyond
Mon, Aug 13, 2018
10:30 a.m.
Moos 5-125
Christopher Coffey University of Iowa Achieving the Promise of Innovative Clinical Trial Designs in an Academic Setting
Tues, Aug 21, 2018
10:30 a.m.
Moos 5-125
Kiros Berhane University of Southern California An Overview of Methodologic Advances in Multi-Level Modeling of Multiple Longitudinal Outcomes
Thurs, Aug 23, 2018
10:30 a.m.
Moos 5-125
Susan Paddock RAND Corporation Innovations in Multilevel Modeling and a Vision for Biostatistics
Wed, Sept 19, 2018
3:30 p.m.
Mayo 3-125
 Yang Xie University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center Data Integration for Machine Learning in Medicine – Cases Studies in Lung Cancer
Wed, Oct 3, 2018
3:30 p.m.
Mayo 3-125
Alexia Iasonos Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center Phase I Designs that Allow for Uncertainty in the Attribution of Adverse Events
Wed, Oct 17, 2018
3:30 p.m.
Mayo 3-125
Ying Guo Emory University New ICA Methods for Brain Network Analysis Using Neuroimaging Data
Wed, Oct 24, 2018
3:30 p.m.
Mayo 3-125
Chap Le University of Minnesota A Regression Model for Individualized Diagnosis
Wed, Oct 31, 2018
3:30 p.m.
Mayo 3-125
Tim Hanson Medtronic Inc. A Unified Framework for Fitting Bayesian Semiparametric Models to Arbitrarily Censored Spatial Survival Data
Wed, Nov 7, 2018
3:30 p.m.
Mayo 3-125
Xiaofeng Zhu Case Western Reserve University Analysing Rare Variants using Families in Large Whole Genome Sequencing Data
Wed, Nov 28, 2018
3:30 p.m.
Mayo 3-125
Julian Wolfson University of Minnesota Whizbang! Successes (and Stumbles) with Technology in the Classroom
Wed, Dec 5, 2018
3:30 p.m.
Mayo 3-125
Xu Shi Harvard University Promoting Interoperability via Automated Translation of Medical Terminology
Wed, Feb 6, 2019
3:30 p.m.
Mayo D199
Irina Gaynanova Texas A&M University Joint Association and Classification Analysis of Multi-view Data
Wed, Feb 27, 2019
3:30 p.m.
Mayo D199
Daniel Schaid Mayo Clinic Statistical Methods for Analyzing Genetic Pleiotropy (One Gene to Many Traits)
Wed, Mar 6, 2019
3:30 p.m.
Mayo D199
Shuo Chen University of Maryland School of Medicine Modeling Whole-brain Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy Neurometabolite Imaging Data with Latent and Organized Dependence Structures
Wed, Apr 3, 2019
3:30 p.m.
CCBR Ballroom
Lynette M. Smith University of Nebraska Medical Center Poisson Cokriging as a Generalized Linear Mixed Model
Wed, Apr 17, 2019
3:30 p.m.
Mayo D199
Xuan Bi University of Minnesota A Group-specific Recommender System
Wed, Apr 24 , 2019
3:30 p.m.
Mayo D199
Adam Rothman University of Minnesota Ideas for Multivariate Analysis in High Dimensions
Wed, May 1, 2019
3:30 p.m.
Mayo D199
Liang Chen University of Southern California Tackling Overdispersion in RNA-seq and Single-cell RNA-seq
Mon, May 20, 2019
10:00 a.m.
Moos 2-520
Daniel Almirall University of Michigan Longitudinal Mixed-effects Modeling to Compare Dynamic Treatment Regimens with SMART Data
© 2015 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy Statement