Seminars

The Division of Biostatistics seminar series includes research-focused talks by visiting faculty from a wide range of institutions, and faculty from the University of Minnesota. All seminars are free and open to the public. Biostatistics students organize the Student Seminar Series, where students present and discuss their work in progress.

Date/Time/Location Name Affiliation Title
Wed, Sept 18, 2019
3:30 p.m.
Moos 2-520
Kellie Archer The Ohio State University High-dimensional Variable Selection and Prediction of Ordinal Response Data
Wed, Sept 25, 2019
3:30 p.m.
Moos 2-520
Emma Benn Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai Diversity in Statistics: Building and Sustaining Effective Pipelines for Recruiting and Training the Next Generation of Innovators
Wed, Oct 2, 2019
3:30 p.m.
Moos 2-520
Guanghua Xiao University of Texas, Southwestern Medical Center Machine Learning and Spatial Modelling for Cancer Pathology Images
Wed, Oct 16, 2019
3:30 p.m.
Moos 2-520
Jesse Berman University of Minnesota Getting Hot Under the Collar: Does Air Pollution Exposure and Temperature Increase the Risk of Violent Behavior?
Wed, Oct 23, 2019
3:30 p.m.
CCBR Ballroom
Kelley Kidwell University of Michigan Design and Methodological Improvements for Rare Disease Research: Use of snSMART Design
Wed, Nov 6, 2019
3:30 p.m.
Moos 2-520
Stephen Cole University of North Carolina Gillings School of Global Public Health How Do We Ask Better Questions and Get Better Answers?
Wed, Nov 20, 2019
3:30 p.m.
Moos 2-520
Kris Gorman University of Minnesota Learning More by Teaching Less
Fri, Jan 10, 2020
10:00 a.m.
Moos 2-520
Tianchen Qian Harvard University Estimating Time-varying Causal Excursion Effect in Mobile Health with Binary Outcomes
Thurs, Jan 16, 2020
10:00 a.m.
Moos 2-520
Rui Duan University of Pennsylvania EHR + X: Expanding the Reach of EHR Data Through Data Integration
Wed, Jan 22, 2020
3:30 p.m.
Moos 2-690
Allison Meisner Johns Hopkins University Risk Models with Polygenic Risk Scores
Fri, Jan 24, 2020
10:00 a.m.
Mayo A110
Lan Luo University of Michigan Real-time Regression Analysis with Streaming Health Datasets
Tues, Jan 28, 2020
11:30 a.m.
Moos 1-450
Jared Huling Ohio State University Energy Balancing of Covariate Distributions for Estimation of Causal Effects
Thurs, Jan 30, 2020
11:30 a.m.
Moos 1-450
Jessica Gronsbell Verily Life Scienes Leveraging Digital Data for Clinical Research
Mon, Feb 3, 2020
3:30 p.m.
Moos 2-520
Anne Eaton University of Minnesota Non-parametric Estimation in an Illness-death Model with Component-wise Censoring
Wed, Feb 5, 2020
3:30 p.m.
Moos 2-690
Jeffrey A. Boatman University of Minnesota One Out of Many: Combining Data Sources for Causal Inference
Fri, Feb 7, 2020
10:00 a.m.
Moos 5-125
Matt Ploenzke Harvard University Redefining Pharmacogenomic Cell Sensitivity: A Case Study with the PharmacoMixtuR Package
Mon, Feb 10, 2020
3:30 p.m.
Moos 2-520
Jack Pattee University of Minnesota Integrating Germline and Somatic Genetics to Identify Genes Associated with Lung Cancer
Thurs, Feb 13, 2020
11:30 a.m.
Mayo 3-125
Tianzhong Yang University of Minnesota On the Mediating Role of Gene Expression in Complex Traits
Wed, Mar 4, 2020
3:30 p.m.
Moos 2-690
Brian Reich North Carolina State University
Wed, Apr 1, 2020
3:30 p.m.
Moos 2-690
Jeff Miller Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health
Wed, Apr 29, 2020
3:30 p.m.
Moos 2-690
Hemant Ishwaran University of Miami
© 2015 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy Statement