Biostatistics Seminars

Print This Page

The Division of Biostatistics seminar series includes research-focused talks by visiting faculty from a wide range of institutions, and faculty from the University of Minnesota. All seminars are free and open to the public.

Biostatistics students organize the Student Seminar Series, where students present and discuss their work in progress.

Date/Time/Location Name Affiliation Title
Wed, Sept. 16, 2015
3:30 p.m.
Moos Tower, Room 2-620
Gongjun Xu University of Minnesota Identifiability of Restricted Latent Class Models with Binary Responses
Wed, Sept. 23, 2015
3:30 p.m.
Moos Tower, Room 2-620
Brian Hobbs University of Texas
MD Anderson Cancer Center
Recent Advances in Cancer Imaging and Bayesian Sequential Design with Co-primary Endpoints
Fri, Sept. 25, 2015
10 a.m.
Mayo Memorial Building, Room 3-100
Saurabh Ghosh Indian Statistical Institute Integrating Multiple Phenotypes for Genetic Association Mapping
Wed, Sept. 30, 2015
3:30 p.m.
Moos Tower, Room 2-620
Michael Lavine University of Massachusetts Amherst Approximately Exact Calculations for Linear Mixed Models 
Wed, Oct. 7, 2015
3:30 p.m.
Moos Tower, Room 2-620
Michael Bulmer University of Queensland The Islands – Hybrid Population Simulations for Teaching and Learning
Wed, Oct. 21, 2015
3:30 p.m.
Moos Tower, Room 2-620
David Matteson Cornell University A Bayesian Multivariate Functional Dynamic Linear Model

Wed, Oct. 28, 2015
3:30 p.m.
Moos Tower, Room 2-620
Fang Yu University of Nebraska Medical Center Confident Difference Criterion: A New Bayesian Differentially Expressed Gene Selection Algorithm with Applications
Wed, Nov. 4, 2015
3:30 p.m.
Moos Tower, Room 2-620
Soutir Bandyopadhyay Lehigh University Spatial Methods for Nonstationary Fields Using Compact Basis Functions
Fri, Nov. 6, 2015
10 a.m.
Mayo Memorial Building, Room 3-125
Tomás Goicoa Public University of Navarre  Age-space-time Models for Disease Mapping
Wed, Nov. 18, 2015
3:30 p.m.
Moos Tower, Room 2-620
Ani Eloyan Brown University Statistical Analysis of Brain Images using Matrix Decompositions
Wed, Dec. 2, 2015
3:30 p.m.
Moos Tower, Room 2-620
Yun Li University of North Carolina A Bayesian Method for the Detection of
Long-range Chromosomal Interactions in Hi-C Data
Wed, Jan. 20, 2016
3:30 p.m.
Moos Tower, Room 2-620
Dehan Kong University of North Carolina High-dimensional Matrix Linear Regression Model
Fri, Jan. 22, 2016
10 a.m.
Moos Tower, Room 2-530
David Matteson Cornell University A Spatio-Temporal Point Process Model for Ambulance Demand
Wed, Jan. 27, 2016
3:30 p.m.
Moos Tower, Room 2-620
Won Chang University of Chicago Changes in Spatio-temporal Precipitation Patterns in Changing Climate Conditions
Fri, Jan. 29, 2016
10 a.m.
Moos Tower, Room 2-620
Yize Zhao Statistical and Applied Mathematical Sciences Institute/University of North Carolina Bayesian Feature Selection for Ultra-high Dimensional Imaging Genetics Data
Wed, Feb. 3, 2016
3:30 p.m.
Moos Tower, Room 2-620
Chuan Hong University of Texas Health Science Center Detecting Publication Bias in Multivariate Meta-analysis
Fri, Feb. 5, 2016
10 a.m.
Moos Tower, Room 2-530
Mark Fiecas University of Warwick Modelling the Evolution of Brain Signals
Wed, Feb. 10, 2016
3:30 p.m.
Moos Tower, Room 2-620
Edward Kennedy University of Pennsylvania Robust Causal Inference with Continuous Exposures
Fri, Feb. 12, 2016
10 a.m.
Moos Tower, Room 2-520
Tao Lu State University of New York High-Dimensional Nonparametric ODE Models for Dynamic Gene Regulation Networks
Wed, Mar. 2, 2016
10:45 a.m.
CCBR Ballroom
Cavan Reilly University of Minnesota Decomposing Taxonomical Contributions to Observed Differences in the Microbiome of COPD Patient Groups
Wed, Mar. 23, 2016
3:30 p.m.
Moos Tower, Room 2-620
J. Jack Lee University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center Bayesian Update and Its Application in Adaptive Clinical Trials
Wed, Apr. 6, 2016
3:30 p.m.
Moos Tower, Room 2-620
Debashis Ghosh University of Colorado Variable Selection and Machine Learning Methods for Causal Inference Problems
Wed, Apr. 20, 2016
3:30 p.m.
Moos Tower, Room 3-110
Jim Hodges University of Minnesota Estimates on the Boundary in Random Regressions: Statistical Methods Research Done as Science Rather than Math
Wed, Apr. 27, 2016
3:30 p.m.
Moos Tower, Room 2-620
Kari Lock Morgan Pennsylvania State University Rerandomization to Balance Covariates