MHA Alumni Board

Our Mission
To promote excellence in healthcare leadership by assuring the MHA Program’s success and cultivating a satisfying life-long alumni network.

Our Vision
To be the most relevant network of resources for MHA alumni and students and a cornerstone of the Program’s continued success.

Executive Committee 2019-2020

Jeni Hallatt

Jeni Hallatt, MHA ’00 | Chair
Vice President
Lake Geneva, WI

Kenneth Preston Jones

Kenneth Jones, MHA ’03 | Vice Chair
AMITA Health St. Francis Hospital
Evanston, IL

Geri Genant

Geri Carroll ’16 | Secretary
Organizational Effectiveness Consultant
Slalom Consulting
Boston, MA

Robert Sabina

Robert Sabina, MHA ’10 | Treasurer
Chief Operating Officer
HCA Houston Healthcare Tomball
Tomball, TX

Dr Peg Van Bree

Dr. Peg Van Bree, MHA ’86 | Past-Chair

At-Large Directors

Giles Caver ’91
Chief Business Development Officer
Satellite Healthcare, Inc.

Greg Hart ’76
CliftonLarsonAllen LLP
Rosemount, MN

Patrick Hays ’71
Retired President and CEO
BlueCross BlueShield Association
Chicago, IL

Tony Kouba ’08
Managing Director
Integrated Healthcare Strategies
Northridge, CA

Rachael McKinney ’04
Chief Executive Officer
Sutter Davis Hospital
Davis, CA

Chris Meyers Janda ’91
Vice President
Premier, Inc.
Eden Prairie, MN

Donald Moore, Jr. ’92
Chief Executive Officer
Pueblo Community Health Center
Pueblo, CO

Alison Page ’96
Chief Executive Officer
Western Wisconsin Health
River Falls, WI

Colleen Reitan ’86
Retired, Executive Vice President & President Employer Solutions
HCSC (Health Care Services Corporation)
Avon, CO

Bill Santulli ’84
Chief Operating Officer
Advocate Aurora Health

Debbie Schuhardt ’89
Senior Principal

Student Representatives

Trygve Jensen, Class of 2021
Andre Le Blanc, MHA executive cohort 10
Brenda Johnson, MHA executive cohort 11


Jean M. Abraham, PhD
Director & Wegmiller Professor
MHA Program
Executive Director
MHA Alumni Association/Foundation

Past Board Members

View list of past board members (PDF)

All MHA alumni are invited to get involved by serving on a leadership committee of the board. If you are interested, please contact the staff person listed below.

Education & Engagement Committee
The MHA Education & Engagement Committee is responsible for alumni & volunteer Engagement, including planning alumni events such as MHA alumni webinars, the Healthcare Leadership Symposium, etc.. The committee also works to provide valuable feedback to program leadership about curriculum and practical learning opportunities. Contact Sara Pennebecker.

Philanthropy Committee
The MHA Philanthropy Committee plays an essential role in securing philanthropic support to enhance the overall strength of the MHA Program. Contact Heidi Mastrud.

Committee Members 2019-2020

MHA Philanthropy Committee
Dan McGinty, MHA ’86, co-chair
Ken Bence, MHA ’92
Mark Engstrom, MHA ’87
Bill Gold, MHA ’82
Matt Knapp, MHA ’12
Tony Kouba, MHA ’08 co-chair, board liaison
Jerry Nye, MHA ’77
Jim Rice, MHA ’71
Tally Sharma Venjohn, MHA ’13
Michael Sharpe, MHA ’93
Peg Van Bree, MHA ’86
Staff: Heidi Mastrud (

MHA Education & Engagement Committee
Mark Enger, MHA ’76, chair
Ronald Baer, MHA ’71
JC Buswold, MHA ’13
Geri Carroll, MHA ’16, board liaison
Giles Caver, MHA ’91
Jack Dressen, MHA ’14
Pete Engler, MHA ’18
Patrick Hays, MHA ’71
Jamie Hornibrook, MHA ’98
Rachel Kuhnly, MHA ’19
Andre LeBlanc, (MHA student)
Rachael McKinney, MHA ’04
Debbie Schuhardt, MHA ’89
Erica Thomas, MHA ’16
Jamie Walski, MHA ’20
Staff: Sara Pennebecker (

Healthcare Leadership Symposium Steering Committee
J.C. Buswold, MHA ’13, co-chair
Mary Ellen Wells, MHA ’84, co-chair
Giles Caver, MHA ’91
Jack Dressen, MHA ’14
Mike Harris, MHA ’15
Patrick Hays, MHA ’71
Joe Hellie, MHA ’90
Jamie Hornibrook, MHA ’98
Devin Lee, MHA ’17
Emily Levin, MHA ’15
Jim Rice, MHA ’71
Bill Santulli, MHA ’84
Michael Sharpe, MHA ’93
Kaajal Singh, MHA ’07
Bob Stevens, MHA ’83
Staff: Heidi Mastrud (

© 2015 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy Statement