Community Partners & Ambassadors

Community Partners (CPs) are individuals representing external stakeholder organizations. Although Community Partners are welcome to become involved in all CHAI activities, we envision Community Partners will largely liaison with the Equity and Community Engagement Core by generating collaborative ideas, opportunities, and needs that Members may be interested in/could address. Community Ambassadors are individual community members external to the University of Minnesota that will have otherwise a similar role as CPs in CHAI. 

Community Partners

AARP Minnesota

  • Erin Parrish, ASD for Advocacy and Outreach

ACER – African Career, Education, and Resource

  • Wynfred Russell, Founding Executive Director and Director of Strategic Partnerships

Adapt Design Works

  • Rob Wudlick, Clinical Trial Project Manager, Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, University of Minnesota; CEO, Adapt Design Works, LLC.

Allina Health

  • Vivian Anugwom, Manager, Health Equity Program
  • Ellie Henderscheid, Senior Program Coordinator

Alzheimer’s Association Minnesota-North Dakota Chapter

  • Susan Spalding, Chief Executive Officer
  • Mollie O’Brien, Chief Strategy Officer
  • Heidi Haley-Franklin, Vice President, Programs
  • Sherry Tibbetts,  Director, Diversity

AmeriCorps Serve Minnesota

  • Frank Forsberg
  • Naomi Zuk-Fisher

Amherst H. Wilder Foundation

  • Paige Priolo, Senior Program Developer
  • Christin L. Lindberg, Research Associate

Arrowhead Area Agency on Aging

  • Kristi Kane, Director
  • Georgia Lane, Principal Planner, Community Developer
  • Brenda Shafer-Pellinen, Eldercare Development Partnership Program Coordinator

Augustana Care

  • Carol Ashwood, Social Worker

Care Providers of Minnesota

  • Patti Cullen, CAE, President and CEO
  • Nicole Mattson, Vice President of Strategic Initiatives
  • Shauna Kapsner, LALD, Director of Education and Events 

Central MN Council on Aging

  • Lori Vrolson, Executive Director
  • Steve Hoover

Centro Tyrone Guzman

  • Roxana Linares, Executive Director

Crest View Care Senior Center

  • Shirley Barnes, Chief Executive Officer


  • Jon Lundberg, Post-Acute Executive; and President, Senior Services


  • Shelley Kendrick, President and CEO
  • Dawn Cash, Service Coordinator

Essentia Health

  • Steve Waring, Principal Research Scientist

Edina Senior Center

  • Nicole Gorman, Recreation Supervisor

Faith Community Nurse Network

  • Jessica Drecktrah, MHA, MN, RN, Faith Community Nurse, Chief Nursing Officer

Family Means

  • Beth Wiggins, Director of Caregiving and Aging

Giving Voice Initiative

  • Eyleen Braaten, Executive Director

The Goodman Group

  • Craig Edinger, Chief Executive Officer

Guardian Angels Senior Community-Riverview Landing

  • Andrea Erickson, Administrator

Hallie Q. Brown

  • Jonathan Palmer, Executive Director

Health Partners Institute

  • Leah Hanson, Senior Director, Neuroscience Research

HealthCare Interactive

  • John Hobday, CEO, and Founder

Hennepin Healthcare

  • Mariam Anwar, MBBS, Geriatrics/Senior Care

Jewish Family Service of St. Paul

  • Jill Grover, Case Management Contracts Director

Leading Age Minnesota

  • Kari Thurlow, President and CEO
  • Roni Flack, Manager of Adult Day Services


  • Katie Uphus, MA, Hospice Integration & Volunteer Manager

Lutheran Social Services of Minnesota

  • Jeri Schoonover, Chief Service Officer
  • Roxanne Jenkins, Associate Vice President of Services for Older Adults

Mayo Clinic – Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center

  • Ronald Peterson, Director, Administrative Core; Professor of Neurology
  • Angela Lunde, Co-Director, Outreach, Recruitment, and Education Core

Minneapolis Institute of Art (Mia)

  • Virajita Singh, Chief Diversity & Inclusion Officer

Minnesota Community Care

  • Cindy Nelson Kaigama, Director of Innovation and Learning

Minnesota Department of Health, Human Services

  • Mary Manning, Division Director, Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Division
  • Khatidja Dawood, Section Manager, Center for Health Promotion Section
  • Valerie Cooke, Continuing Care for Older Adults
  • Benjamin Boateng, Minnesota Department of Health
  • Michelle Brasure, Minnesota Department of Health
  • Khan Bilquis, Minnesota Department of Health
  • Patricia Takawira, Minnesota Department of Health

Minnesota Gerontological Society

  • Alana Wright, Executive Director

Minnesota River Area Agency on Aging

  • Jason Swanson, Executive Director

Minnesota Toward Zero Deaths (TZD)

  • Kristine Hernandez, Statewide TZD Coordinator
  • Annette Larson, Reginal Coordinator for South Central MN
  • Stephanie Malinoff, Center for Transportation Studies, University of Minnesota
  • Joan Somes, Co-Chair, Dakota County TZD Coalition

Minnesota Leadership Council on Aging

  • Adam Suomala, Executive Director

The Moments

  • Tami Moyer, Community Relationship Director

The National Aging in Place Council

  • Renee Johnson, Realtor, CSA, CAPS


  • Michelle Riedel, Senior Housing Associate

Pathway Health

  • Peter B. Schuna, President and CEO
  • Lisa Thomson, Chief Strategy and Marketing Officer

Pillars of Prospect Park

  • Griffin Myslivecek, Executive Director
  • Erin Erdahl, Activities Director

Presbyterian Homes and Services

  • Dan Lindh, President and CEO
  • Mike Bingham, Senior Vice President Optage & Health Care Initiatives

Radius Living

  • Brian Wenger, Founder, and CEO
  • Kirk Ogren, Senior Advisor

Rainbow Health

  • Phil Duran, Director of Advocacy and Research
  • Dylan Flunker, Research, and Policy Manager
  • Maren Levad, Aging Advocate and Strategist

Southeast Seniors

  • Betsy Snyder, Executive Director

Spectrum Health

  • Katie Vreeland, Director of Sales and Marketing

START Senior Solutions

  • Tracy Keibler, Founding Director

Stevens Square Foundation

  • Alice Hill, Executive Director
  • Carol Ashwood, MSW, LICSW (Clinical Social Worker, Open Circle Adult Day Services)

Stratis Health

  • Jane Pederson, MD, Chief Medical Quality Officer


  • Dawn Simonson, Executive Director
  • Sarah Adams, MSW, LISW, Older Americans Act Grant Manager

Twin Cities – Habitat for Humanity

University of Minnesota Retirees Association

  • Lynn Anderson, UofM Retirees Association, Age-Friendly University Council

Vista Prairie Communities

  • Jim Bettendorf, President & Chief Executive Officer

Volunteers of America Minnesota and Wisconsin

  • Dorothea Harris

Walker|West Music Academy & Amazing Grace Chorus

  • Tonya Gregory, Program Director
  • Braxton Haulcy, Executive Director
  • Shana Moses

Westminster Presbyterian Church – The Magnet Senior Program

  • Angelique Kingsbury, Program Coordinator

Community Ambassadors

  • Heather Brooks
  • Jennifer Caruso- Wenner
  • Lois Cutler, Ph.D.
  • Pam Johnson
  • Susan Klett
  • Roberta Meyers
  • Tom Hyder
  • Ellen De La Torre
© 2015 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy Statement